Moving Forward

It’s my 21st birthday on Tuesday and I am so excited for it. I haven’t been excited for anything in almost 2 years because I have had to cancel so many plans, so to be able to be excited is the best feeling in the world. I have almost a whole week of celebration with a lot of friends planned, and I can’t wait to see them all.

Scarily, this time last year I was still having chemo. I was hooked up to a drip on my birthday and was writing an article on what having cancer had taught me. I learned a lot about myself, about my body, and about a whole side of life I never knew I would experience. I have since been learning how to put my life back together, and that has been going very well, however much of a whole roller-coaster of ups and downs and emotions it has been. I’m still plodding through life, but at least now I have a lot of plans.

In the past few months I have made a lot of positive changes in the direction my life is moving, the biggest of which is actually deciding I want to get a degree. Even if I don’t get on the degree apprenticeship, I will be happy because I applied, and the fact that I never even thought I would want to do a university course has once again shown me that you really never know where life will take you.

I am looking forward to having both of my hips fixed and to be able to go swimming, as currently I struggle to walk around most days, so my 21st will be the year of my new hips, where i become 1% titanium and no longer need a walking stick.

Since my last birthday I have learned how to play ukulele, how to produce electronic music, been on the radio twice and worked with a good friend of mine on a record label. I also beat cancer. I have been able to do so many amazing things because I never want to stop learning or meeting new people. I have overcome a lot of anxiety to be able to make it here, but it was worth a long battle to get to where I am right now.

There are a lot of people whom I do not get a chance to speak to regularly, but I just wanted to say thank you to everyone who has been with me on this long journey over the past few years, for encouragement and support, a general chat or following my Facebook and blog posts. To current and ex friends, all of you were important in getting me to where I am today, and I am glad for everyone in my life. I may not be 100%, but I’m sure as hell getting there.

I’m now going to spend the next week getting incredibly drunk.

Here’s to another year, to business endeavours and making music. Here’s to catch ups with old friends and meeting new ones. I hope to always keep a smile on my face and to put one on others’.

– Jaymz out.

(p.s. I had a drink at this café in the middle of a road in london last week. It was pretty nifty.)

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

2 thoughts on “Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

